P A T R I C I A    V A N    N E S S

Phoenix / De ave phoenice (The)

Phoenix / De ave phoenice (The) (2002)

for Solo Soprano, Solo Baritone, Harpsichord, Oboe 1&2, Viola/Violin, Violoncello

Download PDF

Duration: 42 min.

Commissioned by the Boston Athenaeum
To commemorate their reopening after renovations
Premiered (27 November 2002) by Ellen Hargis, soprano; Sanford Sylvan, baritone; Peter Sykes, harpsichord, Julianne Verret, oboe/English horn, Jane Harrison, oboe/English horn; Anne Black, violin/viola, and Emily Walhout, cello
Text by Carmen Lactantius (Latin), trans. Sister Mary Francis McDonald, O.P. (English)


Border art by Patricia Van Ness
"Cloister Garden #3" (2015) 8½" x 15½"
No Pattern Embroidery
Click here for more information about fiber art by Patricia Van Ness.

Copyright © 2002–2024 Patricia Van Ness